BSA Philip Abrams Memorial Prize

About the Prize

The BSA Philip Abrams Memorial Prize is for the best first and sole-authored book within the discipline of Sociology.

It was established in honour of the memory of Professor Philip Abrams whose work contributed substantially to sociology and social policy research in Britain.  He is remembered for the encouragement and assistance he provided to many young sociologists at the start of their careers.

In recognition of his commitment to sociology as a discipline, the British Sociological Association established this prize to stimulate new ideas and fresh research in sociology by encouraging new British authors.

Call for Nominations

The Call for Nominations for the 2018 Philip Abrams Memorial Prize is now OPEN.  Please review the Information and Criteria document before completing your Nomination Form.  The closing date for entries is Friday, 1 December 2017.

2017 Prize Winners

Congratulations to the joint winners of the 2017 Prize:

Paul Ian Campbell book cover

Paul Ian Campbell
Football, Ethnicity and Community: The life of an African-Caribbean Football Club 
Peter Lang

Amy Chandler book cover

Amy Chandler
Self-Injury, Medicine and Society: Authentic Bodies 
Palgrave Macmillan